Vice-Chancellor Message

  • Prof. Sharanappa V. Halse

    Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor, KSOU Mysuru

    Karnataka State Open University (KSOU), Mysuru, is a State Public University established by the act of State Legislature in 1992, and was brought into force on 1st June 1996. Ever since its establishment, KSOU has been pro-actively engaged in fulfilling the national objectives of higher education i.e., to achieve ACCESS, EQUITY, QUALITY, AFFORDABILITY and ACCOUNTABILITY.

    A Pioneer and Premier Centre of Higher Education under Open and Distance Learning (ODL) system, KSOU was carved out of illustrious University of Mysore in 1996. Before becoming the university, KSOU was an Institute of Correspondence Courses and Continuing Education (ICC&CE) of the University of Mysore which was established in 1969.

    The motto of KSOU - “HIGHER EDUCATION FOR EVERYONE, EVERYWHERE”, promises to reach out to those unreached - to all those higher education aspirants. The Open University was established in pursuance of National Policy on Education, NPE-1986 on the recommendation of Central Education Advisory Board MHRD, Government of India.

    Since its establishment, nearly 20 Lakh students have been graduated from across the country and in all disciplines. However, under unfortunate circumstances the UGC had de-recognised the KSOU, retrospectively from 2013 to 2017.​

    The UGC has re-recognised KSOU from the year 2018-19, and all the programmes of KSOU are now accredited by UGC in accordance with UGC-ODL Regulations – 2017.

    The main campus, ‘Muktha Gangothri’, located in Mysuru - a cultural and educational capital of Karnataka, an erstwhile Princely State of Mysuru. The university has state-of-the-art infrastructure with elegant academic and administrative buildings. There are 21 regional centres (Nine centres with its own buildings) across the State, in additional to more than 75 Learner Support Centres (LSCs) recognised as per UGC-ODL regulations catering to the educational needs of the State.

    KSOU offers academic programmes in Arts, Science, Commerce and Management and Education. There are 31 UG, PG and Doctoral programmes in addition to a number of Diploma and certificate courses of professional and skill-oriented nature with interface with industry and society. The university has established 13 Research and Extension Centres and Chairs to promote linkage with industry and society.

    Believing strongly in student support activities, the University provides special coaching classes to students through its own training centres and skill development centres not only in its main campus in Mysuru but also in its regional centres.

    • The placement services and campus recruitment drives are regular features.
    • The university has given special attention for enhancing E-learning resources, establishment of virtual labs for students and faculty.
    • The faculty is engaged in E-teaching, Research, Extension and in the development of E-content and Self Learning Materials (SLM) production.
    • The University has adopted DCT in teaching, learning, research and publication.
    • The curriculum is updated and CBCS system is being introduced.

    With these novel initiatives, the KSOU – the only State Open University of Karnataka is spearheading the ODL system, and is contributing significantly for increase in GER and it is a right place to pursue higher education through distance mode.


Courses of KSOU are recognised by University Grants Commision (UGC) New-Delhi vide order No: F.No 4-1/2023 (DEB-III) Dated : 16th June 2023 for the period from 2023-24 to 2027-28

All contents in this website is owned and goverened by KSOU Mysuru and should not be copied or used in any other means of media without written consent from the concerned authorities. * Copyrights © 2022 KSOU Mysuru. All rights reserved.